School Board Election Update

At the Regular Board of Education Meeting on Monday, September 11, 2023, the Platte Valley Board of Education voted to officially adopt a resolution cancelling the Platte Valley Board of Education school elections due to election by acclamation. Colo. Rev. Stat. § 1-5-208(1.5) authorizes the Board of Education by resolution to cancel the election and declare the candidates elected, if at the close of business on September 5, 2023, there are not more candidates than offices to be filled at the election, including candidates filing affidavits of intent to be write-in candidates.

There were two candidates, one representing Director District B and one representing At-Large District, that brought completed petitions by the statutory deadline. Current board president James Welch will continue to serve representing Director District B, and Kristine Bauer will serve as one of the At-Large Director District positions. Current board member Mindy Marshall elected not to re-run for her position. Platte Valley School District is very grateful for the time, effort, and dedication that Mindy has given to the Board of Education. James and Kristine will be sworn in prior to the regularly scheduled November Board of Education meeting.

James Welch bio

Kristine Bauer bio

Election News

2021 Official Election Results Luke Gardner - At-Large Board Member Robin Meireis - District A Mary Roth - District C

New Officers James Welch - President Robin Meireis - Vice President Mindy Marshall - Treasurer Mary Roth - Secretary Luke Gardner - Board Member

Superintendent Selection
Superintendent Search Selection - Burmeister

Please visit the Superintendent's Message page to learn more about the Platte Valley School District's new superintendent of schools, our own Dr. Jeremy Burmeister.